Independence Cup (Club Series)

Saturday, June 22, 2019

Classic Summer Conditions, 22 Entrants at the Independence Cup

The Independence Cup, the third regatta of the 2019 Club Series, took place in classic summer conditions on the Knox racecourse. Across two races, we had 22 competitors in 4 divisions, including 11 entrants in the super-competitive Spin 1 division.

Congratulations to the following division winners:

  • 1st in Spin 1: Peregrine, David Halliwill/Randy Smith/Tad Lacey
  • 1st in Spin 2: Orca, Will Baylis/Rich Bergsund
  • 1st in Non-Spin 1: Q, Glenn Isaacson/Liz Baylis
  • 1st in Non-Spin 2: Kookaburra, Martin Koffel

The Independence Cup race committee was led by PRO Julie Wiard, with Jane Elkins, Lynnie Spiller, Bill Kircher, Charmian Tunney, Don LeClaire, Roxanne Fairbairn, John Super, Mason McCloskey, Tony Scott, and Tom Roberts was the protest chair.

Beer and wine was generously provided by Fort Point Brewery and Dry Creek Vineyards.

The regatta was moved off of actual Independence Day this year in an attempt to boost participation. There's still a race on the 4th though: the all-new Fireworks Folly Pursuit Race. Sign up for a quick, casual race and be back for the BBQ!



NOR Amendment 1 (Non-spinnaker ratings adjustments)